Sweet Red Bean Bubble Tea

Image-1 (4)

I have always been intrigued by red bean bubble tea but have always been too nervous to try it! This year for my birthday my Korean friend got me a red bean Popsicle and it was seriously good! I thought I would try to make my own red bean bubble tea before buying it, and I was pleasantly surprised again! I almost wanted to compare it to a chocolate drink- it didn’t quite taste like chocolate, but somehow reminded me of it! I would definitely get red bean flavor next time I go for bubble tea…if I don’t choose coconut taro because that is #1!

Ingredients:

1/2 c red beans ( I used canned)

3 tbsp agave nectar

1 tbsp olive oil

1 c almond milk

6 ice cubes

2 tbsp boba

Directions:

1. In a small sauce pan bring 1.5 c of water to a boil. Add red beans and reduce heat to med-low.) Let them cook for about 15 minutes. Strain, and place beans in a mini food processor. Add agave and blend till smooth.

2. Warms 1 tbsp of olive oil in your small pot and add red bean mixture. Cook for 5 minutes until beans form a paste. Let it cool to room temp or chill in the fridge.

3. Add almond milk, red bean paste and ice cubes to your blender and blend till frothy. Pour into a cup and add your cooked boba!

xo erin

Leave a Reply

